Premier League: Manchester City beat West Ham to become first team to claim 4 straight titles

Manchester City created history on Sunday (May 19) by winning the fourth consecutive English Premier League (PL) title with a 3-2 win over West Ham. City, with the latest title, went past arch-rivals Manchester United for most consecutive Premier League titles and now are the first team to win four consecutive PL titles.

Their fiercest title contender of the season, Arsenal, finished second despite 2-1 win against Everton.

Arsenal were on top for the most weeks in the season before City took over with a 2-0 win against the Tottenham Hotspurs last week.

For Arsenal to win the title, they had to win their final league game while City had to lose theirs against West Ham.

City, however, started the game against West Ham full of aggression.

Phil Foden, who recently won the Premier League Player of the Season award, drew the first blood for City with a goal in the second minute.

Before West Ham could come to terms with the first goal, Foden added one more to his tally in the 18th minute as City went 2-0 up. 

The first half, however, ended with City leading 2-1, thanks to West Ham’s Mohammed Kudus who scored in 42nd minute for his team.

City’s Rodri added one more to his team’s tally in 59th minute as the game got all but over.

As for Arsenal, they played catch up throughout the game against Everton after the latter got up 1-0 in the 40th minute thanks to Idrissa Gueye goal. Arsenal, however, replied back sharply within the next three minutes as Takehiro Tomiyasu brought his team equal in the 43rd minute.

Kai Havertz’s 89th minute goal did manage to get Arsenal the win but it wasn’t enough to the title as they finished at 89 points, two short than City’s 91.

You can now write for and be a part of the Motabooknews. Share your stories and opinions with us here.

Leave a Comment